SO MANY WAYS

So Many Ways; Vanlife; 2022; Portugal; Teneriffa; travel; lifestyle; van; camper; lebensgeschichten; life stories; Saskia Uppenkamp; Portrait; Fotograf; Fotografin; Berlin; Friedrichshain; Studio; On Location; Reportage

SO MANY WAYS
26 Vanlife Stories
I remember well my first experience of living in a van, in Australia in 2010. I spent three weeks travelling up and down the west coast in a rickety Toyota High Ace converted into a camper. The vehicle was getting a bit long in the tooth, had neither a shower nor a toilet. Always on the lookout for a good place to park. In the loneliness on the west coast of Australia, the choice was great. Standing in the nowhere at night and being a little afraid when strange noises could be heard outside the car. In the middle of nature, all alone. The thought of the experience never left me.
At the beginning of the year, I spent some time in Tenerife. There I noticed the many campers that were everywhere on the island. Not necessarily in places like you see in photos on Instagram channels where vanlife is hyped. The vans were not stylish super campers, but rather individual and simple, adapted to the needs of their inhabitants.
After the pandemic and 18 years of living in Berlin, a city I find increasingly exhausting, the idea of having my own camper to escape to nature was very present again. I wanted to know what life concepts and motivations are behind the people who live in a van for longer periods or even permanently? What experiences lead to the decision to travel in a van, maybe even to give up life in ‘normal society’ with an own flat and a permanent job? What is so special about this way of living?
For my series ‘SO MANY WAYS’ I met van dwellers in Portugal and Tenerife. These are their stories.

Gefördert durch die Stiftung Kulturwerk – VG Bild Kunst 2022


PORTFOLIO

SO MANY WAYS

So Many Ways; Vanlife; 2022; Portugal; Teneriffa; travel; lifestyle; van; camper; lebensgeschichten; life stories; Saskia Uppenkamp; Portrait; Fotograf; Fotografin; Berlin; Friedrichshain; Studio; On Location; Reportage

SO MANY WAYS
26 Vanlife-Geschichten

Ich erinnere mich noch gut an meine erste eigene Erfahrung, mit dem Leben in einem Van, 2010 in Australien. Drei Wochen war ich in einem klapperigen, zum Camper ausgebauten Toyota High Ace an der Westküste unterwegs, hoch und runter. Das Gefährt war schon ein wenig in die Jahre gekommen, hatte weder Dusche noch Toilette. Immer auf der Suche nach einem guten Stellplatz. In der Einsamkeit an der Westküste Australiens war die Auswahl groß. Nachts im Nirgendwo stehen und sich ein wenig fürchten, wenn seltsame Geräusche außerhalb des Wagens zu hören waren. Mitten in der Natur, ganz allein. Der Gedanke an die Erfahrung hat mich nie wieder losgelassen.
Anfang des Jahres war ich längere Zeit auf Teneriffa. Dort fielen mir die vielen Camper auf, die überall auf der Insel standen. Nicht unbedingt Orte, wie man sie auf Fotos von Instagramkanälen sieht, auf denen das Vanlife gehypt wird. Die Vans keine durchgestylten Supercamper, sondern ganz individuell und eher einfach, angepasst auf die Bedürfnisse ihrer Bewohner.
Nach der Pandemie und 18 Jahren in Berlin, einer Stadt, die ich als immer anstrengender empfinde, war die Idee, einen eigenen Camper zu haben, mit dem ich in die Natur flüchten kann, erneut sehr präsent. Ich wollte wissen, welche Lebenskonzepte und Motivationen hinter den Menschen stehen, die längere Zeit oder auch dauerhaft im Van leben? Welche Erlebnisse führen zu der Entscheidung im Van zu reisen, vielleicht sogar ganz das Leben in der ‚normalen Gesellschaft‘ mit eigener Wohnung und festem Job aufzugeben? Was ist das Besondere an dieser Art zu leben? Für meine Serie ‚SO MANY WAYS‘ habe ich Vanbewohner in Portugal und auf Teneriffa getroffen. Dies sind ihre Geschichten.

Gefördert durch die Stiftung Kulturwerk – VG Bild Kunst 2022


PORTFOLIO