SO MANY WAYS – Oliver

29 Jahre, aus Köln, Deutschland 

So Many Ways; Vanlife; 2022; Portugal; Teneriffa; travel; lifestyle; van; camper; lebensgeschichten; life stories; Saskia Uppenkamp; Portrait; Fotograf; Fotografin; Berlin; Friedrichshain; Studio; On Location; Reportage

“This lifestyle, this simple way of living, I’ve always liked that and the adventure that comes with it. I knew that would be my thing one day.”

So Many Ways; Vanlife; 2022; Portugal; Teneriffa; travel; lifestyle; van; camper; lebensgeschichten; life stories; Saskia Uppenkamp; Portrait; Fotograf; Fotografin; Berlin; Friedrichshain; Studio; On Location; Reportage

Oliver – Vila Do Bispo, Portugal  
29 years, from Cologne, Germany  
 
Three years ago, Oliver quit his job in the media industry and moved into his camper. This had been a dream since childhood. His father had a camper, took him and his sister on tours to the Netherlands or Austria. Even as a little boy, he knew that this would be his thing at some point.  
Already in his early twenties, when he started his training as a media designer, he began to put money aside. He didn’t yet have a precise idea of what his camper should look like or what budget he had for it. He works in the television industry for five years, often on the road. At first, he liked travelling for the job. But as time went by, Oliver realized that he didn’t want to do this for the rest of his life. Oliver lacked time for himself, his family and friends. In 2018, he quit, took some time off in Bali to figure out what to do next. He wanted to find a way to combine work with his desire to travel without getting too caught up in the daily grind of a job. After his return, he bought the old camper. In a friend’s workshop, with his help, he started to overhaul the van and put it in shape. At times, he also worked for the garage to get a feel forcar wrenching‘, to know what is important in a classic car. In 2019, he went on tour for the first time.  
Through an old contact, he got a job as a photographer at a French surf camp in the summer of 2020. He is not a trained photographer, more of an autodidact. Through his education, he knows a lot about light and image composition. Photography has been his hobby until then. Now he returns to the surf camp every year during the season and takes pictures of the surf beginners or offers individual shootings on the beach as a nice memory. Outside the season, he tries to realize his own projects, where he doesn’t necessarily earn money.  
For him, the great thing about living in a van is getting by on a relatively small budget. During the season, Oliver sets aside enough to cover the rest of the year. Of course, he builds up reserves for possible repairs and maintenance. But mainly he spends his money on food, petrol and campsites, as it is no longer so easy to camp wild in Portugal.  
After countless people had come to Portugal with vans to live since the beginning of the pandemic, new laws were passed in the winter of 20/21 to deal with the situation and prevent wild camping. The police handed out rigorous fines and people fled with their vans to the campsites. Today, the situation is in any case a little more relaxed again in the low season.  
On the one hand, he likes to travel by van, to discover places anew. For him, it doesn’t have to be the wide world. Currently, there are still many places in Europe he wants to visit. On the other hand, he loves his habits of staying longer in one area, knowing which spots are safe and undisturbed, where he can find a good swell, meeting other people, being part of the local van community.  
Oliver can imagine living in the van for the next few years, he likes the lifestyle. Despite everything, the thought of settling down is in his mind: When he finds a place he likes, has a girlfriend he wants to live with or wants to start a family.

For me, first and foremost was to quit my job, be on the road and then see how things turn out, and it all worked out great.” 


SO MANY WAYS

Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Youtube
Consent to display content from Youtube
Vimeo
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google

SO MANY WAYS – Oliver

29 Jahre, aus Köln, Deutschland 

So Many Ways; Vanlife; 2022; Portugal; Teneriffa; travel; lifestyle; van; camper; lebensgeschichten; life stories; Saskia Uppenkamp; Portrait; Fotograf; Fotografin; Berlin; Friedrichshain; Studio; On Location; Reportage

„Dieser Lifestyle, diese einfache Art zu leben, das hat mir schon immer gefallen und das Abenteuer, das damit verbunden ist. Ich wusste, dass das eines Tages mein Ding sein würde.“

So Many Ways; Vanlife; 2022; Portugal; Teneriffa; travel; lifestyle; van; camper; lebensgeschichten; life stories; Saskia Uppenkamp; Portrait; Fotograf; Fotografin; Berlin; Friedrichshain; Studio; On Location; Reportage

OLIVER – Vila Do Bispo, Portugal
29 Jahre, aus Köln, Deutschland 

Vor drei Jahren hat Oliver seinen Job in der Medienbranche hingeschmissen und ist in seinen Camper gezogen. Dies war seit seiner Kindheit ein Traum. Der Vater hatte einen Camper, unternahm mit ihm und seiner Schwester Touren nach Holland oder Österreich. Schon als kleiner Junge war ihm klar, dass das irgendwann mal sein Ding sein wird. 
Bereits mit Anfang zwanzig, als er seine Ausbildung zum Mediengestalter beginnt, fängt er an, Geld zur Seite zu legen. Er hatte noch keine genaue Vorstellung davon, wie sein Camper aussehen soll oder welches Budget er dafür zur Verfügung hat. 
Fünf Jahre arbeitet er beim Fernsehen, ist oft unterwegs. Anfangs gefällt es ihm, für den Job zu reisen. Mit der Zeit wird Oliver aber klar, dass er dies so nicht den Rest seines Lebens machen möchte. Oliver fehlt Zeit für sich, seine Familie und Freunde. 2018 schmeißt er hin, nimmt sich eine Auszeit auf Bali, um zu überlegen, wie es weitergehen soll. Er will einen Weg finden, Arbeit mit seiner Lust am Reisen zu verbinden, ohne zu sehr im Berufsalltag gefangen zu sein. Nach seiner Rückkehr kauft er den alten Camper. In der Werkstatt eines Freundes fängt er mit dessen Hilfe an, den Van zu überholen und in Schuss zu bringen. Zeitweise arbeitet er auch für die Werkstatt, um ein Gefühl fürs ‘Autoschrauben’ zu bekommen, zu wissen, was bei einem Oldtimer wichtig ist. 2019 geht es zum ersten Mal auf Tour. 
Über einen alten Kontakt bekommt er im Sommer 2020 einen Job als Fotograf in einem französischen Surf Camp. Er ist kein ausgebildeter Fotograf, eher Autodidakt. Durch seine Ausbildung kennt er sich gut mit Licht und Bildkomposition aus. Fotografie ist bis dahin sein Hobby. 
Nun kehr er jährlich zur Saison in das Surf Camp zurück, fotografiert dort die Surfanfänger oder bietet individuelle Shootings am Strand als schöne Erinnerung an. Außerhalb der Saison versucht er seine eigenen Projekte zu realisieren, bei denen er nicht unbedingt Geld verdient. 
Für ihn ist das Tolle am Leben im Van, mit relativ kleinem Budget auszukommen. Während der Saison legt Oliver genug zurück, um davon auch das restliche Jahr zu bestreiten. Natürlich bildet er Rücklagen für mögliche Reparaturen und Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen. Hauptsächlich gibt er sein Geld aber für Essen, Benzin und Campingplätze, da es in Portugal nicht mehr so einfach ist, wild zu campen. 
Nachdem seit Beginn der Pandemie unzählige Menschen mit Vans nach Portugal gekommen waren, um dort zu leben, wurden im Winter 20/21 neue Gesetze erlassen, um der Situation Herr zu werden und das freie Campen zu unterbinden. Die Polizei verteilte rigoros Strafen, die Leute flüchteten mit ihren Vans daraufhin auf die Campingplätze. Heute ist die Situation auf jeden Fall in der Nebensaison insgesamt wieder etwas entspannter. 
Einerseits mag er es, mit dem Van zu reisen, Ort neu zu entdecken. Für ihn muss es nicht die weite Welt sein. Momentan gibt es noch viele Orte in Europa, die er besuchen möchte. Anderseits liebt er seine Gewohnheiten, länger in einer Gegend zu sein, zu wissen an welchen Spots man sicher und ungestört stehen kann, wo er einen guten Swell findet, andere Leute kennenzulernen, Teil der Van-Community vor Ort zu sein. 
Oliver kann sich schon vorstellen, die kommenden Jahre im Van zu leben, ihm gefällt der Lifestyle. Trotz allem ist der Gedanke in seinem Kopf, sesshaft zu werden: Wenn er einen Ort findet, der ihm gefällt, eine Freundin hat, mit der er zusammenleben möchte oder eine Familie gründen will. 

„Für mich war erst mal primär den Job zu kündigen, unterwegs sein und dann schauen, wie sich die Dinge entwickeln und das hat alles prima gepasst.“


SO MANY WAYS

Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Youtube
Consent to display content from Youtube
Vimeo
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google